fragility

Current events keep me thinking about what matters most in life, and friendship is in the mix.

As I’ve mentioned recently, I’m grieving my friend who passed last summer. It took me a year to really believe that she was gone. My expectation of seeing her soon has been replaced by flashbacks of our time together, brought on by random stimuli in my everyday life.

It seems fitting at this time to offer my eulogy, as I did not have the chance to do publicly, though I did so to the wind on an arid hilltop in Morocco this time last year.

Before I head off the grid for a week, as I do at regular intervals to balance city dwelling, I conjure my friend to travel with me one last time, as I have some letting go to do…

**********

Winter Solstice 2011

Élan, my sister, my partner in our soul journey, one of four Venice sisters, who are now three and weep the loss.

Élan, creator extra-ordinaire, Mistrix of gatherings, dancing queen, Queen Bee, chef beyond words. You adorned the world too briefly, and gave so much to embellish our lives.

Élan, friend profound, you saved me from my Melrose Place existence; my post-conjugal home became your home became my home away from home, to nourish the spirit and have a few giggles.

And oh, the giggles, hearty and heartfelt, wit abounding. Everything you did was full of heart, whether warm or wounded.

A piece of my heart has perished with you, and I release it into this air, this sea, this sky as I release your spirit to be shared more greatly. Linger only occasionally, for as much as we miss you, we free you ten thousand times more.

Image

(photo: pits47 July 2011)

2 thoughts on “fragility

  1. Brings tears to my eyes. I’m sorry you are hurting and that you lost someone so important in your life. My heart is with you. Hugs.

LEAVE A REPLY

