can you call it a win if you lie?

I don’t think you can really call a debate a win if it is based on misinformation. I’m picking only one item today, from The New York Times‘s fact checking site, which disputes much more of what the Republican candidate said last night:

“Mr. Romney says Mr. Obama doubled the deficit. That is not true. When Mr. Obama took office in January 2009, the Congressional Budget Office had already projected that the deficit for fiscal year 2009, which ended Sept. 30 of that year, would be $1.2 trillion. (It ended up as $1.4 trillion.) For fiscal year 2012, which ended last week, the deficit is expected to be $1.1 trillion — just under the level in the year he was inaugurated. Measured as a share of the economy, as economists prefer, the deficit has declined more significantly — from 10.1 percent of the economy’s total output in 2009 to 7.3 percent for 2012.”

I cannot comment with any authority. I did not watch or listen to the debate, as I do not have television at home, and I had parental duties that kept me busy through much of the action. Yet one revelatory moment came to my attention as my daughter and I exited our car, heading home from her soccer practice. She said “Look, Mommy, everyone’s watching the debate.” Sure enough, from darkened living rooms around the block came the blue glow of the talking heads doing what they do. I mentioned to my daughter that I didn’t believe much of what Mr. Romney said in general, so I didn’t really want to listen to him speak. And my wise offspring noted: “Well, Romney just interrupted Obama, who is waiting patiently for him to finish.”

Apparently nice guys do finish last.

(Next time I’m volunteering my 11-year-old as moderator. From the buzz I’ve heard, she might do a better job of keeping the candidates in line.)

UPDATE: read Paul Krugman’s op-ed in The New York Times about another whopper regarding Romney’s own health care proposal. He doesn’t even understand his own policies (or he is deliberately misleading his constituents).

One thought on “can you call it a win if you lie?

  1. One of several outright lies or misinformation. Why aren’t our newscasters saying more about that instead of his great “performance”?

    Sad! Biased liberal press? Yeah, right!

    Good blog!

LEAVE A REPLY

